T Nation

Nutrition? Supplements? Info Overload

Ok. I do research for a living. As you can well imagine, when I did what I do most naturally, when approaching a new content area, I found that I am completely and utterly overwhelmed with contradictory ideas. I also warn you in advance I tend to be a bit…verbose.

So, my goals. I need to lose 50-100 lbs. The big range is because I know that muscle weighs more than fat and right now I have a LOT of fat. If I were simply going to diet, I would probably need to lose on the higher end of my range.

I’ve let myself get out of control the last four years–caring for my terminally ill husband, grief after his death, then recovering from ACL replacement/cadaver graft, pulmonary embolism after surgery…

I feel like I am finally swimming back to the surface after being trapped in the bottom of a deep, dark, murky lake. I’v managed to recover from my surgery, which was in October, and no longer am on blood thinners for the blood clots. I am moving past the trauma of the past emotionally, and am anxious to get on with things, physically.

I want to be fit. I don’t care so much about looking like a body builder, though I am sure my boyfriend would love that, ha ha! I’ve read enough to understand that I can’t lift too much, and that without serious effort, I won’t end up looking like a guy. So that fear is put to rest.

Though I do tend to put on muscle pretty easily, from my experiences in the past. My knee is recovering well from surgery; I should get the all-clear next month when I have my six month post surgical check. My lung capacity is somewhat compromised by the huge saddle embolism, but seems to be getting better every day. I do have to watch myself that I do not overextend my lung capacity.

So. Nutrition. I’ve successfully lost weight in the past, and I know what I need to do for my body in terms of calories in order to simply shed pounds. I have never, however, tried to both lift weight, gain muscle, AND lose fat.