T Nation

Nutrition Help for a Client, Please

I’m a nutritionist and trainer having a difficult time with a returning client. Female 5’2” 42yo. November-May 2020 lost 11 pounds to 122 consuming an average of 1300 calories. After going on her own, she put on 6 pounds and asked for help September, 2021. I started her off at 1540 calories and have adjusted her down slowly to 1170 and she’s only been gaining; currently weighing 131.
I’m asking for suggestions of what I may be missing here. She’s a puzzle I cannot solve.
Any help would be appreciated. Thank you

Are you sure they are following the diet plan…?

@supercardrives, she’s THE MOST accurate-anal-perfectionist ever. She’s been a stickler for detail in both nutrition and training.

How does she look…could it be building muscle or is she gaining fat

Also, what about holding water

Last possibility is PMS or maybe she is going thru menopause

At 42, have medications changed? Like even BP meds?

Imo there are three possible outcomes:

1. She’s lying to you about her nutritional intake, her daily activity or both. It is not an uncommon thing to happen when your client lacks discipline. This can be the case if she cannot adhere to the diet but also does not want any conflict with you or disappoint you. Lying would be a defense mechanism here.

2. She’s not lying to you but makes mistakes in logging her food intake and/or has subconsciously decreased her daily activity (especially NEAT). This happens often, especially with inexperienced people. Always copy the nutritional details right from the products you’re buying and weigh your foods dry (off course you as a coach know this but perhaps she does not). My fitness pal is full of mistakes. However, this will probably be the least applicable outcome if she’s a perfectionist and started coaching with you.