T Nation

Nutrition for Mental Performance?

Besides using supplements, like nootropics and stimulants, are there any nutritional guidelines for performing well cognitively, like for a standardized test?

I will be taking the LSAT. I added nootropics and stimulants to my study regimen and my scores shot up tremendously. I am studying hard currently, but a bit worried about burning out and was wondering if there was anything I could do to help this fact.

For instance, I know that available glycogen for brain use is very important in cognitive functions, so I was wondering if increasing carb intake would be beneficial.

yeah man increased mental performance = increased physical performance as well… Check out Biotest’s Power Drive take it before study sessions and your big test game over! Also pre-workout you will have one hell of a workout!

uh.

what?

[quote]Fiction wrote:
uh.

what?[/quote]

I would take the stimulants you don’t want to take. Perhaps you can cycle the stimulants you’re taking, I have no idea because I’ve never taken. The LSAT is a one-time shot (in most instances), you need as good a score as you possibly can.

What’s your GPA?

[quote]t-station wrote:
Fiction wrote:
uh.

what?

I would take the stimulants you don’t want to take. Perhaps you can cycle the stimulants you’re taking, I have no idea because I’ve never taken. The LSAT is a one-time shot (in most instances), you need as good a score as you possibly can.

What’s your GPA?

[/quote]

I am. Currently I’m taking Adderall, creatine, aniracetam, vinpocetine, and just purchased Powerdrive and some Spike Doubleshots. I didn’t really experience any noticeable effects from the Powerdrive (actually did a little poorer than usual, but it might be due to burnout).

What I’m really looking for is some additional nutritional advice for studying and the day of the test. Should I go heavy on carbs, extra does fish oil, what?