T Nation

Nutrition for Faster Hair Growth

Yeah, I know it’s a girly topic.

Before I started training (about 4 years ago), I let my hair grow for over a year. As you might expect, I had a huge fro which grew like a weed. Of course, the combination of my huge hair and untrained physique was less than attractive. (I’m an FFB.) When I got into shape and stayed that way over the next 3 years (until now), I favored shorter hairstyles, from about 5/8 inch at most to completely shaved bald. Worse, the last couple of times I have been at that upper limit I have had problems with thinning hair (baldness is in the cards for myself and my older brother…sniffle…He’s only 23 and it’s starting…sob). But I’d like to go back to my onetime length, because the effect could be a lot different with some muscle to back it up.

So I’m wondering what I can do for my diet to prevent shedding and make my hair grow faster if at all possible. I really doubt I am missing any nutrient. As it stands I eat a high protein diet (250-300 grams a day) consisting of everything in my sightline (not clean, but that I don’t think that’s relevant to my hair). I also take a multivitamin and creatine, if this means anything. So is there anything I can add for better results? Thanks in advance.

Hi there,

A good quality fish oil supplement and organic extra virgin coconut oil (4 tbs a day)

Fish oil helping in hair growth? I’ve never heard of that, can you point to some literture to back this up?

Reid

There are no nutrients that will increase hair growth. I have been taking Propecia for many years when I noticed my hair beginning to thin. I still have a thick set of hair.

Propecia works - believe me but it is expensive and you must take it everyday.

Pre-natal vitamins will work wonders for hair and fingernail growth. Don’t know what else it will do to you or how you get them if you’re not pregnant. My wife and every girl in the office agrees that these things work.

Thanks for your responses.