Nutrition For A N00B! Help Please

Hello T-Nation! This is my first post here so Im going to try to make it a good one. I was introduced to this site by my roommate and fellow poster joeymotts. I am really hoping that someone at this site can give me some detailed outline or attention, a plan basically to follow as I try to re-shape my diet and get into the best shape of my life.

Let me start with a little background for you:
Height: 5ft 9in
Weight: 170
I started lifting probably when I was in ninth grade but have never really committed specifically to a regiment. More often, my lifting has been pretty seasonal due to playing sports but then not regularly lifting in the off-season. As a college athlete, I am now more regimented and focused in my lifting approach. I however, feel that I really want to change my diet and go from being in alright shape to really good shape.

I would say my goal in this is to lower my body fat %, get lean, and have a healthier lifestyle over this summer to achieve the body I want.

Reading a lot of articles and posts on here for me can be discouraging. I see -oh intake 15% of this kind of fat broken into saturates and polysaturates and you need to get these amino acids- and I think to myself that I dont know where to start or measure this out.

For the past week, Ive completely stopped drinking soda or really anything else that isn’t water. I have also basically cut out all snacks that would fall under the chips, cookies, etc nature. I have been having two egg whites for breakfast, and usually a dinner consisting of grilled chicken, some vegetables, and some fruit throughout the day. More or less due to my schedule, I am only having two real meals of the day which I am sure will not be encouraged whatsoever here.