NPR: 'All White Operation'

… says Juan Williams (former NPR analyst)

“For them, I think the fact that I was a journalist who was not being pigeonholed as just a black journalist, but something larger and sometimes even conservative in a point of view, made them have great difficulty with me,” former NPR analyst Juan Williams tells the Huffington Post.

Vid:
http://www.realclearpolitics.com/video/2011/03/09/juan_williams_npr_is_an_all_white_operation.html

http://hosted.ap.org/dynamic/stories/U/US_NPR_TEA_PARTY_CRITICISM?SITE=AP&SECTION=HOME&TEMPLATE=DEFAULT&CTIME=2011-03-10-17-46-37

Video: NPR leaders knew of possible $5M gift

WASHINGTON (AP) – A follow-up video from conservative activists targeting NPR shows that its former CEO and its top lawyer were aware of a potential $5 million contribution from a phony Muslim group.

NPR has said the group did not meet its standards for potential donors and that it never came close to accepting the donation.

The video includes recorded phone conversations between NPR executive Betsy Liley and an activist posing as a wealthy donor from a nonprofit with ties to the fundamentalist Muslim Brotherhood. They discuss the logistics of such a donation and the circumstances under which the gift could be kept anonymous.

After another bad public-relations moment (following the Juan Williams controversy last fall) in the midst of a federal-funding battle, NPR’s board has ousted CEO Vivian Schiller, according to NPR’s own media reporter. The move follows on the release of an embarassing, unfelicitously-timed sting video in which NPR fundraiser Ron Schiller (no relation) met with members of a fictitious Muslim advocacy group and was recorded saying that the Republican Party had been hijacked by a “racist” Tea Party.