T Nation

Novice Started SS 3x5, Hit a Wall

Stats:
Height : 5ft 11in
Weight : 210 lbs
Goal : Getting my 3 main lifts to a decent number

Background: I have been working out for about 2 years. I got into working out after high school. Like most people who start off my workouts sucked but I did what I thought was right. So I read that doing the main lifts was the right thing to do. So I did some stupid modification of SL, like an idiot I varied the sets between 1-3 and the reps of 1-3 on my squats. Anyway I got my lifts up to
Squat : 240 1 x 5 (Set x Rep)
Deadlift : 260 1x5
Overhead Press : 135 3x3
Bench Press : 185. 3x3
But mind you those lifts were pretty much like 3-5 rep maxes.

Where I am at today: So I decided to revamp my program and switch to SS, but unfortunately I am not allowed to do cleans at my gym. So I have to do Barbell backrows. Anyway I went ahead and cut my lifts by about 25%. So I started off doing 3x5 sets of
Squat : 185
Deadlift : 210
Overhead Press : 100
Bench Press : 135

So everythings going good and boom I hit a wall. I have currently stalled on my squats 3 times @ 245.
Workout Log (Squats only, I do the other lifts prescribed in the program)
Aug. 05 245 4/3/0
2 Day Break
Aug. 08 245 5/5/2
Aug. 10 245 5/3/4

So now I at my first official stall I guess you can say. I am following the program. I am sleeping like a puppy. I am eating like a horse. About 3000+ calories. I mostly eat clean, milk, protein, eggs, oatmeal, veggies, nuts, and fruit. Unfortunately my income doesn't allow for supplements, but if I do have extra cash I buy whey protein.