Not Sure Why I Lost Weight

im a freshman in college im 6 foot and i weigh 159 pounds
i used to work out every day in high school and i put on a little bit of size but not a whole lot because i didnt really eat that much
and after a whole summer without touching a weight i decided id start up again but take is seriously

i started this diet about a week ago and work out like crazy

IMMEDIATELY ON AWAKENING
1 whey protein shake (using 2 percent milk)
1 banana

BREAKFAST
5 whole eggs, scrambled
1 bowl oatmeal (with skim milk)
Multivitamin/multimineral pack

MIDMORNING
1 banana

LUNCH
Chicken breast or tuna
1 baked potato
2 cups mixed vegetables

MIDAFTERNOON
1 orange

DINNER
8 ounces steak
1 baked potato or rice serving
2 cups mixed vegetables

SUPPER

and the craziest thing happend
i went from 164 pounds to 159
i know muscle weighs more than fat and i havent lost a lot of size which could say ive burned off fat
if anything im looking bigger and denser

so yeah if anybody here could give me any suggestions or explain why i lost weight instead of gaining it on that diet itd be greatly appreciated

You possibly cleaned up from a worse diet, and your body comp adjusted because it’s a shock to the body for not working out for a few months.

You will look better, but if you want to get bigger than you just have to eat a bit more.

thanks rsg
losing all that weight after eating more in a week then i usually do in 2 weeks had me worried
what more should i eat to help myself grow?

More protein, carbs and fats.

Your frequency is good and diet doesn’t look too bad - I would add some more fats and fruits (nuts with meals and shake, flax seed oil, olive oil, peanut butter, etc…) and possibly some whole food to a couple of you shake meals.

Other than that, just increase the portion size of you meals - thing is because your body will be adjusting to the new routine, you may already be eating enough so just give it time - if you don’t see gains then increase said meals.