Not Sure Where to Go from Here

Hey everyone, been a few months since I last posted.

I’ve been doing 5/3/1 for just about 10 months now, starting as a total beginner to lifting. I’ve seen my lifts go up much more than I could ever have anticipated and am extremely happy with my results so far. Also I have gained roughly 18 lbs and am nearing my short term goal weight of 205.

I’ve run 5/3/1 for beginners and switched to 5/3/1 w/ fsl, and have been running that for the last 3 months or so. I haven’t really been deloading the majority of the time since I haven’t felt the need to but recently my lifts have been stalling. I’ll hit a PR, and then have to seriously grind out reps for a couple weeks, then eventually my strength will come back and hit a new PR. It’s almost cyclical in a sense. Does anyone have any idea as to why this is? I feel as though I’m eating enough during the day and around my workout to allow me to continue progressing, and I’m still gaining weight.

As for the deloads- after the deloads I have done I have to work a couple weeks to get back to where I previously was. I don’t know if it’s mental due to an “off” week or what but it’s somewhat demoralizing taking steps back when progressing forward is so much more fun and rewarding, not to mention I feel like after a less intense week I should be refreshed and at nearly 100%.

Any suggestions as to what couple possibly be happening/ solutions?

First, congratulations on making big gainz. You made the commitment, put in the hard work, and have seen results.
Here’s where the game changes a bit. Remember that progress is not linear. Staying the course and patience will pay off from here on out.

My own early experience mirrors yours, and as time has passed, new PRs and growth seem to come in waves.

Keep working. Stay patient.

That is odd that you come back weaker. when I took a deload I came back stronger.