Not Making Gains

Im 40 years old and Ive been lifting seriousely for like almost 2 years now. Im 5’8" and weigh 160 pounds. Ive gotten stronger -I can bench 275 which I guess is ok but I want to get stronger and im not. I try to eat a gram of protein for every pound of weight. I take creatine and glutamine and Im almost done my first bottle of Alpha Male.

I work out like 4 days a week. I usually start of heavy and go lighter as I get more fatigued. I work out like 45 minutes a session. So what should I do. Should I work out longer or more often? is there some other supplement I should be taking? I know I should be eating alot but then I just get fat- well any help would be greatly appreciated -thanks

[quote]pa902 wrote:
Im 40 years old and Ive been lifting seriousely for like almost 2 years now. Im 5’8" and weigh 160 pounds. Ive gotten stronger -I can bench 275 which I guess is ok but I want to get stronger and im not. I try to eat a gram of protein for every pound of weight. I take creatine and glutamine and Im almost done my first bottle of Alpha Male.

I work out like 4 days a week. I usually start of heavy and go lighter as I get more fatigued. I work out like 45 minutes a session. So what should I do. Should I work out longer or more often? is there some other supplement I should be taking? I know I should be eating alot but then I just get fat- well any help would be greatly appreciated -thanks[/quote]

eat more and rest more…

older guys like you and I need more recovery time…try lifting three days a week for a while to see if that helps…

although you can get stronger at the same bodyweight, staying the same bodyweight you can only get stronger for a limited period of time…then you’re going to need to add muscle…

start uping the calories now…if you see yourself putting on fat too quickly reduce your caloric intake slightly …it’s really not that complex.

stop drinking alcohol…alcohol will fuck up your natural testosterone level…