T Nation

Not Having Time to Eat Right

I’m having difficulties finding the time to eat right. Well, better worded, I’m not sure I’m eating ENOUGH. I’m a college student that works full time doing landscaping which means I’m up at 5:30 every morning, and 2 days out of the week I’m in class from after work (5 p.m.) until 9 p.m. at night.

Often, I don’t have time to eat in between getting out of work and going to class, and I don’t eat after class until later because I go to the gym for roughly an hour 5 days (sometimes 6) a week and if I eat beforehand, when I do my cardio I’ll just puke it back up.

So to cut through the all the crap, is it better to eat after the gym (which puts it at about 10:30 at night some nights) right before I go to bed, or is it better for me to do a light snack of various vegetables and/or cottage cheese before bed and eat a much larger breakfast?

First of all congrats on working full time, going to college and going to the gym 5-6 times a week. In your case hitting the iron 3-4 times a week would be better I think since your job is physical. Your muscles grow OUT OF THE GYM. Just listen to your body would be my advice I guess. This is assuming that you train at 100% intensity of course.

Second, if I undertand correctly, you eat 2 times a day. That is crazy. You need to eat at least 5-8 times a day. Bring snacks to work and to school, do whatever it takes to eat at least 5 times a day. Eat as much as you want during breakfast.

Good luck.

There are several things wrong with your approach, but eating big before bed is not one of them. Unless you are DIETING or have already built a sizeable base of muscle mass and are now refining your physique, eating before bed should not be avoided. This also depends on your metabolism and goals, but I see several people on this forum blindly recommending everyone only eat cottage cheese and it simply makes me wonder how much progress they are actually making.