Not Growing Like I Used To

Hey all,

Long time reader, first time poster. I’m 37 years old and haven’t worked out for about 5 years now. I started about 4 months ago and have used two different approaches. The first 2 months I used a full body workout twice a week and for the last two months, a split routine 3 times a week. My workouts have consisted of squats, dl, bench, chins, dips, curls and raises. I’ve been making great gains in strength (for me), but I take measurements each month and have only increased in size by fractions on an inch (1/2 to 3/4 here and there). Through out I’ve used 2 sets with 5 to 8 reps, when I get to 7 or 8 I add weight to get back to around 4 or 5 reps.
I’m using whey/creatine/trib and have tried all the other things, but I’m not so sure any of it really works. I’ve gained about 2 pounds per month since I started.
What do I need to do to increase my size, when I started lifting in the past, after four months I saw increases of 1 to 1 1/2 inches instead of 1/2 to 3/4 I’m seeing now. Could getting five years older really slow me down that much, I know I don’t have the energy I used to?

Just some stats to go with the post (from starting four month ago til now)

Bench 135 → 175
squats 165 → 205
deadlift 165 → 215
chins 0 → 5 w/15lbs
dips 7 → 5 w/35lbs

I’d appreciate some help!

Three letters:

E-A-T

[quote]scj5277 wrote:
Hey all,