Not Gonna Be a Weak Butterbar!

So after having 4 or 5 different logs over my time here making a new one with each program that I’ve done, I figured it was about time to make a permanent one to last me until I’m commissioned as an officer in the United States Army- from there, who the fuck knows!

I started training way back in my junior year of high school because I was just straight up unhappy with who I was; skinny, weak, and just been walked all over by my first (ex) girlfriend. I didn’t have any friends who were even remotely interested in doing anything physically active, so I turned to the one place I knew would have information: the internet.

There’s a lot of info on bodybuilding.com as a newbie. I pretty much wasted an entire year of training by obsessing over eating “clean”, overcomplicating training without enough intensity and just general douchebaggery. I got focused on the powerlifts halfway through my senior year and started making progress. When I got to college, I was lucky enough to end up with two of the best training partners and friends that I could wish for.

It’s halfway through sophomore year now and we have a group of 8 friends that we help train, sometimes all at the same time (it’s hard!). It’s time to gear up for powerlifting!

Some progress stats so far:

Weight: 150 lbs ----> 180 lbs
Bench: 150 ----> 235
Squat: 135 ----> 315
Deadlift: 185 -----> 425
Dips: 5 -----> 20
Pullups: 2 -----> 12

Some programs that I’ve done so far: Rippetoe’s, WS4SB, MM2K Bench, Ed Coan Deadlift (twice), Madcow 5x5 (current).

Progress and Madcow 5x5

So Fall semester has ended and it’s time to take some things into account.

The Good:

• Sticking around 180 lbs
  • 60 lbs on the Deadlift
  • 500x2 Rack Pull (grip strength ^ )
  • 185 Push Press
  • 100s on DB Bench
  • Rowing strength has went through the roof
  • Pullup and dip improvement
  • At least 10 lbs on the bench and assistance lifts
  • Thumb is 99% healed
  • Slight improvement in APFT

The Bad: