Not Enough Rest Between Workouts?

Hey I started training about 3 months ago and have seen some decent gains but want to make sure I am on the right track, want to know how long I should stick to a workout routine(dont want my body to adapt)& want to know proper rest time between sets. With that said lets explain my current workout routine. I am trying to put together some new routines with the workout equipment I have at home.

Mon & Thursday: Chest & Amrs 4 sets 6-8 reps of each
incline bench press
barbell curl
stand tri exten
flat bench press
db curl
close grip bench

Tuesday & Friday: Back & shoulder 4 sets 6-8 reps of each
barbell row
deadlift
stand military press
lat pulldown
DB front shoulder raise
DB side shoulder raise

Wednesday: legs 4 sets 6-8 reps of each
squats
calf raises
lunges
seated calf raises

[quote]RISINDEAD wrote:
Hey I started training about 3 months ago and have seen some decent gains but want to make sure I am on the right track, want to know how long I should stick to a workout routine(dont want my body to adapt)& want to know proper rest time between sets. With that said lets explain my current workout routine. I am trying to put together some new routines with the workout equipment I have at home.

incline bench press
barbell curl
stand tri exten
flat bench press
db curl
close grip bench

barbell row
deadlift
stand military press
lat pulldown
DB front shoulder raise
DB side shoulder raise

squats
calf raises
lunges
seated calf raises

[/quote]

Changing the whole routine is generally not necessary as long as you are making gains.

You should stay on a program at least for 8 - 12 weeks, but as long as you are progressing there isn’t really any need to change it.

As for rest time between sets, there are many different concepts (supersets, antagonist supersets etc), but something between 60-120 seconds is normally used when doing straight sets.