Not Bad for an Old Man

I’ve been lurking on the site for a while, and have been wanting to start a log in this section. I enjoy checking in on the strength pursuits of others my age. I’d like to add to the group here, in the hopes that I can get feedback on how to manage this pursuit as I get older, and maybe even inspire some others fighting the effects of wear and tear.

Quick stats on me:
I’m 39 years old, have been married for 14 years, and am the father of 3 children. I’m a mailman for my day job, with a walking route. I do 6-8 miles of “urban hiking”, 5-6 days per week. This has a tremendous effect on my lifting, recovery, joint health, weight management, and general energy levels.

I’m 5’8" tall, and yesterday morning, I weighed 217.4 relatively lean lbs. I’ve been lifting for 11 years, and did my first powerlifting meet in August 2008. My wife and I both compete and serve as state referees in USAPL. We just got back from our almost-annual trip to Disney World, and are training for USAPL Raw Nationals, October 17-18. I’ll be in the 105kg Open, and can’t wait to be eligible for Masters division starting next year! She’s 36, and is in the 84+kg Open. We usually train 3-4 days per week, and we usually train together these days.

I haven’t competed equipped since December 2010, but I expect to get back in some suits and shirts in 2016 and beyond. I plan to compete raw and single-ply going forward. I don’t get into the raw vs gear debate. I enjoy both, and don’t make excuses for training or competing in either style.

Enough of that stuff, and onto the fun part of a training log - the training! Here is yesterday’s session - our first one since the Disney trip, and first squat session in 13 days. There was definitely some rust.

TUE. 9/8/15 - Heavy Squat, Light Bench

1. Squat
    135/5, 225/5, 275/3, 315/2, 365/1
    405/1 - added wrist wraps here
    435/1 - added belt here
    455/1 - Kind of slow, as expected, but harder than I’d hoped.
    430/2, 2
    410/3