Not Able to Lift for a Month?

I’m having surgery in mid December (correcting a deviated septum), and although they tell me I should be back on my feet within a few days, I’m not supposed to do any hard exercise to raise my blood pressure for about a month.
That means… no lifting :frowning:

Now, I’m by no means huge or hardcore, but I’ve been working out pretty regularly for a few years and have a lot more muscle than I’d have if I didn’t lift. Now in particular, after having done Waterbury’s TBT (and variations thereof), I’m in the best shape I’ve ever been, mass and cardio-wise.

I’m looking for any advice on what I can do to maintain as much lean mass as possible - I doubt it’s possible to try and gain without raising my blood pressure for a month.

I’m currently getting back onto HOT-ROX for a variety of reasons - partially in preparation for the month away from lifting, as I’m hoping it will help me with maintenance.
I take a little less than a full dose (for loading) of micronized creatine currently; should I up my dosage during the month off?
Should I shoot for more protein than normal?
Are there any exercises I can do to try and maintain as much lean mass as possible?

Any input and suggestions are appreciated,
Thanks.

Taking a month off isn’t really that bad, muscle memory is pretty amazing. When you start back up you might even make faster progress then your used to even.

Anytime I have significant time away from training (mostly vacations), I try to seriously overtrain beforehand. I know that overtraining is usually bad because it maximizes recovery time, but if you’re not going to be lifting for 3-4 weeks, overtraining will actually be beneficial for you because you will have weeks to recover. Forget maintaining, you’ll actually be growing!