Northerner Wanting to Move Down South

Currently I am a mechanical engineering student studying at UMass. I have two years left till I finish my degree. When I finish school I would like to move down south but my decision depends on where I am able to find a job. Ideally I would like to move the Carolinas. I’m really not fond of the winters in New England, the politics up here, people being snooty in general. (MA is the snootiest state haha). I would hate to spend my whole life living in the same region of the country and who doesn’t love southern women?

Anyways feel free to chime in on your experiences/thoughts. Thanks guys have a great evening.

For the sake of it here you go

snooty is a vague term. You will find that wherever you go there will be certain cultural value systems that you may or may not agree with. I have lived most of my adult life in the South, but I have also done a lot of traveling. The weather has it’s ups and downs, but milder winters make up for muggy summers IMO. Perhaps more important than just being in the South vs. the North is the relative size of the town/city you choose to live in. Larger East coast cities along 95 from Boston down through Richmond have a lot in common,but the surrounding suburbs and rural areas can be very very different. This has been stated many many times before on these boards, and you seem to grasp it, but I will say it again…have a job ready to go before you relocate or at least make sure you have substantial savings.

[quote]24Animal7 wrote: