T Nation

Noobie, First Cycle for BJJ?

First let me say thanks for any information. A little bit about myself. I’m 37, 5’10", 215 lbs, Meso probably describes my body type best (easy to pack on muscle, harder to dry up, especially in the mid section), I’ve been strength training since my 20s, I have been training BJJ for 6 years and don’t plan on stopping, I eat super clean because it is so easy for me to put on extra weight while trying to add size. So I would say I have a decent foundation. I have in the past had chances to use compounds but never did because I knew I was to young and didn’t know much about using them properly.
So here I am at 37 and I want to start adding compounds to my already developed tool box, notice I said I wanted to. My doctor won’t even really discuss this stuff with me because he’s pretty much clueless about these things. I don’t currently have a source but im determined to do this so I’m sure I’ll find one, but in the mean time I want to talk about it with folks that know the most efficient and safest way to use the compounds. So on to my questions…
My first question, is it possible to use Test without the need for AIs or PCTs? If not what should I be looking for in AIs and PCTs that work well with Sport Jiu Jitsu/ Grappling? Second, which Test works best with adding strength but without adding much water retention? I understand my body may react differently than others but I need a good solid starting point in relation to dosing… so like I said this is something I want to do and if you’ld rather try to talk me out it just keep it to yourself. I’m here for information on doing it properly from folks who live it.

Welcome to the forum.