T Nation

Noobie Advice, Routine?

Hey I've been lifting off and on for about 2 yrs now but I am new to this site. I'm having problems staying motivated because I haven't seen much gains. I know I haven't been consistent with my lifting but I feel I should be seeing some results after say..6 months. I now know that my diet has a lot to do with this. I said all that to say this lol.. I need help with a routine and any advice for a newbie that you guys are willing to give.

My original goal was to get more muscular but I wanted to get stronger as well. Now I feel like size shouldn't be my main concern that I should be more focused on building a good foundation (strength). I'm 25 yrs old, 205 lbs, and 5'11". I have access to a gym and no one to really help me progress ( gym is at work with people going mainly just to get off work early) what would be a good routine?

How has your strength and physique progressed?

what's a realistic layout of a day of eating for you?

My physique looked the same to me for awhile but a few others said I appeared bigger (arms). I noticed after I had quit working out for awhile the difference because I lost all the gains it seemed like lol. Strength seemed to be all over.. One day I could bench 215 a few times and then most days 185-190 seemed to be all I could bench. I think my diet and when I was taking in calories affected my gym time.

Still got the spare tire thing going on in my lower stomach. Don't know whether to diet and get rid of it or just focus on lifting and eating.

At the moment I haven't been working out or dieting. Trying to get a routine and diet plan together before even attempting to get back to the gym. Now I usually just eat a biscuit at 8, a pretty big lunch and supper at 7 or 8. When I was lifting I was taking in abt 2500 calories a day. For example I would eat:

Breakfast 4:30- protein shake, two eggs scrambled or sandwich, cup of milk
Mid snack 8:00- 1 cup brown rice, 4 oz chicken or pork. Sometimes can of tuna