T Nation

Noob to Complexes and Conditioning/Cutting

I’ve been lifting for almost 2 years now, which isn’t much for most of the guys here, but I was able to put on 15 pounds (fat and muscle) after being stubbornly skinny throughout my high school years.

I’m currently starting to do cardio (swimming and free weight complexes) and dieting. My cardio-vascular health is absolute shit though and I’m not sure if I’m doing things right for cutting.

I’ve been doing the Crosgrove Evil 8 complex with a descending rep setup starting with 7 reps down to 2 reps following lifting (I’m able to lift everyday this summer, so only one muscle group everyday) and on my off days, I do freestyle intervals in the pool.

As for dieting, I’m limiting caloric intake to 1750 calories a day with 50g from fat and 120g from carbs. I’ve been keeping a food log using the MyPlate log from the LiveStrong website and staying below my limit hasn’t been hard at all (which is probably why bulking was so hard for me…I’m not a big eater).

Does anyone have any advice, criticisms, or comments for me?

And also, I have two questions:

1. Is sleeping after intense cardio deleterious to my conditioning/fat loss goal?
  2. Is a single circuit of Evil 8 sets(7x-6x-5x-4x-3x-2x)enough for cardio when I’m in the gym? I feel like death after the last set, but I’m new to this it’s such a short workout that I can’t tell.

1750 calories is…well it IS something i suppose. What it isn’t is good for building a nice strong physique for your level of activity lol. It worries me that you didn’t list how much protein you were getting in. You need to set your calories higher (2750-3000) so when you do stall you can adjust your calories lower IF needed.

1. Sleeping is always good, never think sleeping is in anyway bad towards your goals.
  2. Yes that is more than enough cardio…actually it’s probably too much considering how low your calories are to be honest.