T Nation

Noob Needs Diet Advice

I’m a 45 y/o man and a few weeks ago I started lifting to get in shape and lose weight. I need some advice on my diet.

The times in my life I lost weight are all similar:

1. I had a job where I swept floors all day so basically I was walking at a relaxed pace. I think I had a glass of milk or orange juice for breakfast around 6 am, or maybe a bowl of cereal, a can of coke for lunch at noon, and whatever I wanted for dinner at around 5 pm. I wasn’t trying to lose weight but I probably lost a pound, maybe 1.5 a week.

2. Breakfast and lunch like above. For dinner I tried not to eat crap. I stopped drinking soft drinks and walked 6 miles during the day. I was losing weight but I don’t remember how much. I want to say 10 lbs/week.

3. I was working at night and would wake up about 2 pm. I would walk about 1.5 miles and eat dinner around 5. I had whatever I wanted. Around 9 or 10 I had leftovers from dinner about twice a week. I stopped drinking soft drinks. I might have had them with dinner on Friday. I lost 20 lbs. In 3 weeks.

The common theme seems to be, 1 meal a day, no soft drinks, and exercise.

In addition to the above, I tried eating very low carb, 3 meals a day, for 6 weeks, 6 months ago. I lost a pound or 2. Also, I recently did a 30 day juice fast and lost about 50 lbs.

What should I do?

Well, do you just want to lose weight or do you want to be healthy?

Anyone can lose weight by not eating or eating very little, that doesn’t make it a wise decision.
If you have started lifting weights/strength training, then you need to eat well. Eating one meal a day is not a good idea. I guess I should ask:

What are your goals?
What are your current stats (body fat %, height, weight, etc.)?

In any case, if you’re lifting and have started to be more active-- I don’t think you can go wrong with the diet advice in this article: https://www.t-nation.com/diet-fat-loss/simple-diet