Noob Gains? When Will They Stop?

What’s up guys, just joined, and I have a few questions. So, long story short (kinda), for the past 2-3 years, I was a “weekend warrior” at the gym, at best. I would go 3-4x a week for 2-3 weeks, and get lazy and lay off for a month or two. Last July I had surgery on my ankle and was unable to to any form of exercise for the next 3 weeks.

I got into “lazy mode” and over the next month, gained 10+lbs of fat and lost most of the little muscle that I had. I was 155lbs and felt like crap all the time. I left for a new College in late August, and decided to change that. I started lifting 3-4x a week, consistently, in a bodybuilding fashion, but like most new lifters, I neglected legs. I gained a massive amount of strength and size, ALL of my lifts went up 150-200%, along with losing a lot of the fat that I had accumulated at the same time, and went from 155-175lbs. (I have beginning and end progress pictures if anyone’s interested).

My upper body had gotten quite big (at least compared to what I started at), buy I had pencil legs, so I decided to change that. I’ve added “leg day,” but the only things I do on that day are squats, deadlifts, and shrugs, and sometimes lunges if I have the energy at the end.

Onto the main question. I started Deadlifting light for a few weeks, not going over 185lbs, until I perfected the form. I then tried maxing out for 5 reps, (shoulda done a 1RM too), and in early January, Barely got 215x5. I set my sights high and made a goal of 405x5 by the end of the semester, which is May 15th.