Noob Deadlift Form Check

What’s up guys complete beginner here and first time poster. I was pretty scared of doing deadlifts wrong, so i decided to record myself doing them to see if i was doing them right, but then i remembered i dont really know what a properly executed deadlift looks like, ive seen some videos but i was hoping to get some feedback from someone with more experience.
https://youtu.be/Fys2bd5WeOM

Yeap, its pretty common, you start with your hips too high, there is no more room for your legs to work and you basically lifting with your lower back instead of hips/hams. It should be the other way around, with a stiff back and the legs be the primary movers. I bet that you feel it on your lower back more than anywhere else.
Here’s my quick guide:

Pull bar close to sheens (over mid foot), remove slack, lower your hips and kind of push them backwards until you feel your hammies sweet and tight, push the floor away through your heels. Push through your legs until the bar reaches about knee level. Then hinge with hips and lower back. Reverse the movement for negative.

It looks like you are executing the lift properly; your setup needs work.

First of all, measure your plates diameter. Pretty much everyone uses Olympic plates which have a diameter of 17-18 inches and it looks what you’re using is smaller. This affects how far you have to bend to get into position. So, you should put the bar on some blocks to make the barbell be about 8 inches from the floor.

Here’s a pretty good deadlift setup explanation

2 Likes

Thanks for the feedback guys, i adjusted my setup as suggested and i definitely feel it more in my legs now. My plates are a bit small but im planning on getting some proper 20kg plates, until then ill have to get something to raise up the bar a bit.