T Nation

Non Responsive Arms?

Hi Coach,

I’m following Wendler’s 5/3/1 for a year with a upper-lower split. I’m having very good gains in my pecs, lats and quads.
But my arms (and forearms) are at the same point of a year ago (14 inches arms, 12 inches forearms). I always hit them with one biceps, one triceps and one forearms exercise at the end of every upper workout. I also do a lot of chins, rows and pressing, like the program prescribes.
What can I do to finally see some growth?
I’m 6-2, 181 lbs, 29 years old, I’ve been training for 4 years, former skinny fat guy.

Thank you for your time!

I’m guessing that you have long arms. In general people with longer arms need more direct biceps and triceps work to make them grow. People with shorter arms need much less and can often get big arms simply by pressing and pulling.

The fact that your chest and back are growing tells me that during the big lifts they do most of the work and biceps/triceps are not asstimulated (which is actually a good thing even though it doesn’t feel that way).

The answer is simply to do more direct arm work. And to focus on the mind-muscle connection (you must feel the biceps or triceps do the work, think about lfexing your muscles against resistance during arm work, not on the weight lifted; you must also get an arm pump).

Start with a total of 8-9 sets for both biceps and triceps per workout, and have each set last 40-60 seconds under tension. Do that for 4 weeks to see how it changes your arms. You can use the 10-6-10 technique by Paul Carter (he has an article about it on T-nation), works great for arms.

Thank you for your awesome reply!

I have heard that it is necessary to increase approximately 5 kg of body to increase 1 cm in the arm. (muscle)