Non-Olympic Lifter Wanting to Learn

Hey everyone, I’ve been lifting for a couple of years now and would really like to begin adding hang/power cleans into my routine, particularly hang cleans as i’ve read that those are the easiest to pick up on in terms of technique.

My question is how should i progress??Meaning, at what point can i start adding weight? I’m primarily interested in strength training with some muscle gain and train 3x a week on a push/pull/legs split, which i’ve been getting good gains off of. I plan on doing hang cleans on all 3 days. The main thing i wna know though is is absolute perfect technique still a huge deal for the guy who has no intention of competing in oly lifting, when it comes to making good strength gains?? I’ve been watching vids of guys doing power cleans lifting 300+ on youtube, and their form is far less than stellar, but they’re still pretty strong for non oly-lifters.

This leads me to believe that you can still make good gains from week to week as with any other lift if you eat and lift well without getting too much into the technicality of it all. What’s your guys’ view?

[quote]MCG101 wrote:
Hey everyone, I’ve been lifting for a couple of years now and would really like to begin adding hang/power cleans into my routine, particularly hang cleans as i’ve read that those are the easiest to pick up on in terms of technique.