T Nation

No Time to Train

I’m an accountant - a tax accontant. The very nature of my profession dictates that I will have very little time to train from now until April 16. If you’ve seen my photos - the before pic is what I looked like after last tax season. I don’t want to look like that ever again.

My question to you sage vets is a simple one - what is the most time effective way of keeping the gains I’ve made this summer/fall?

My thinking is maybe one or two body parts per workout @ 3 times a week. I’d like to be able to get in and out in 30 minutes, or so.

I realize that I won’t see much in the way of gains, but If I can just get to spring without gaining too much fat, or losing any muscle, I will consider that a victory.

Any ideas?

Just a wild idea, but one I suggested to my son during his soccer season.
Pick one exercise per day.
do some warm up sets and then 5 sets of 5 reps heavy. either 5 the same or in a pyramid or whatever.
Mix up lower and upper body exercises.
Squat, bench, GM, bent rows, GHR, etc.
The whole workout should last 15-20 minutes.
With all the work stress you probably need something physical each day anyway. It would probably be really goof for your mind as well as your body.
I think you could maintain on that routine for a few months.

caveat emptor: I’ve never personally tried this program … BUT, I know that one of the reasons so many people enjoy EDT is because they know EXACTLY how long their workout will last. you might want to look into that. Another possible solution is just being SUPER anal about your rest periods, as in, wear your wrist watch around and as soon as you put down/rack the weight, hit the start button on the countdown. As far as frequency, I’d get in as often as you can and just lift something different from last time- either different muscle groups or different strength capacities