No Soreness?

I am a beginner 5’10" 170lbs. I am currently 8 weeks into a 10 week 5x5 program 3x per week. I squat every session and then alternate bench and overhead press, barbell rows and deadlift, Dips, Chin ups and pull ups for a total of 4 exercises per day.

Whenever I started the weight was very low (just the bar on some lifts so that I could get the form correct) and I increased by 5lbs each session.

I have finally reached a weight where squats feel like I imagine they should, the first few sets aren’t bad but the last two I can REALLY feel them. The last couple reps of my last set are pretty rough. The only problem is within a an hour or two I have no soreness, even the next day I feel like I could go do squats again.

I’ve heard other people say they are sore for days after doing a good squat session. Am I doing something wrong, or do I need to change up my rep/set combo?

It sounds like you are recovering quickly. There is a lot of debate about soreness being important for hypertrophy. I always noticed the most growth when I got sore. It usually only happens right after making changes to an exercise or routine.

The only way I can guarantee to be sore is to use negatives. Once negatives stop bringing you soreness, than you know you have fully adapted to what you are doing and it’s time to seriously change things.

Stronglifts 5x5, right? I’m doing the same program and rarely notice any soreness, but as long as your lifts are still moving up, why does it matter?