No Prostate Training

Hey,
I recently started training a client who had his prostate recently removed. I searched around and read up on the problem, but at most I get a vague understanding of what he can and can not do.
So far, I know to keep plyometrics out and most hard impact type aerobics. I’m assuming his squats and deads have to stay pretty light. Other than that I’m pretty sure I’m in the clear.
I’ve already contacted his doc and was given some basic doc dribble along with tips on how to train any client.

If anyone has experience or knowledge in this area, fill me in if you could.

Hey, gusto, don’t be second-guessing the guy’s doc…even if it is the standard play-it-safe dribble. It takes a while for the body to heal post-surgery. When I had surgery on my shoulder, my arm was immobilized for a couple of weeks, at which point I started into simple ROM stuff. I wasn’t back to semi-normal – i.e., back to STARTING to lift – for 3 months.

Play it safe with the guy and put it all back on the doc. Focus on the guy’s diet and get him walking if he’s able and has the energy. I don’t know where you live, but if the weather permits, get him out in the sunlight. Sunlight and fresh air help with depression – or in preventing it.

Another thing, he needs to include green tea, broccoli and a small (5-6 oz.) glass of red wine (high in resveretrol) into his diet EVERY day – but no more than a single glass. They are all cancer protective. It will help with body comp, too.