No Power Rack, Squats?

Hi everyone,

Absolute novice question here, and one which I know I shouldn’t have to ask, but anyway…

The only gym I presently have access to is one of the standard, run of the mill commercial type joints with pretty pictures on the walls, fat ladies doing pilates and where anytime I start doing deadlifts the instructors start talking about the impending injuries which will almost certainly result…yada yada…

Point is, this gym does not have a power rack/squat rack. I am training to try and gain as much size as possible and I know that I need to be squatting if I want optimal results, so I will be changing gyms as soon as my financial situation permits. The question for now is, what can I do in place of heavy barbell squats? Should I do some work on the gulp smith machine? Or maybe include some heavy incline leg presses?

Any ideas in terms of alternative exercises which I can use in place of squats for the time being would be hugely appreciated.

Cheers.

You could clean the bar and do front squats.

Assuming there’s enough weight around to load up a heavy barbell…try deadlifts.

Adam

[quote]Adam_T_Brawn wrote:

Adam
[/quote]

Yep, been doing plenty of deadlifts - just pinch the bar off the bench press, load the sucker up and shove a couple of things to the side to make some room, all to the horror of the gym owner but hey, I pay my membership fees.