T Nation

No More Mr. Nice Guy

I graduated in 2007 and have held a handful of jobs since then. I've ran into the occasional prick, the occasional know-it-all and even the occasional nice person.

It has always been my way of thinking that I am to be 100% professional at every instance no matter how extreme and to always be nice and courteous.

Well, fuck that. I'm 27 and know a fair amount about the work I do. I finally snapped and gave the response I wanted to say to an asshole architect that was trying to make me feel like an idiot. It's his fault he didn't read my full statement and comprehend it, why the fuck should I sit back and take insults.

I'm at the point where I can fully defend my position and I'm sick of being the nice young enigneer. Fuck it.

/rant (thanks TNation)

Good job, man.

It's a nice feeling.

Once you check once, twice and three times that you're in the right, and you've been polite about it three times also, then yeah...go to school on ignorant motherfuckers.

beat me too it, saw him last summer

My dear old mom called me a while back and said the same thing. She was at Home Depot, it was busy, and she was waiting for this person to finish unloading their cart so she could pull into the parking spot next to them. Well, when the person finished unloading they just pushed their cart into the vacant parking spot and proceeded to get in their car. Well my mom decided to just park behind this person until they got back out of their car and moved the cart.

This is "no more mister nice guy" on a small scale. But hell, my mom is in her 60's and is the nicest lady I know. It's nice to hear about her, or anyone, standing up for themselves.