T Nation

No Meals After 7 PM?

I’m skinny high school senior with horribly restrictive parents. I’ve been training for almost a year doing mostly deadlifts, pullups, pushups, and running due to the lack of equipments.
Recently, my parents started to care too much about my nutrition and forcing me to follow their guidelines. They feel that my blood pressure might increase because I’m getting too much protein (probably only 70g per day), so they are not letting drink milk that I bought with my money and I am not allowed to eat anything after 7PM.

They also do not understand lifting heavy, thinking that you have to work out for one whole hour nonstop doing thousands of reps with wimpy weights. They see everything that I do has potential to raise my blood pressure. They have not allowed me to uptake my calories since I started lifting, as a result, I have only gained about 20lbs from the first few months.

There’s no use to persuading them. If I say anything, they will just say that my father was very muscular (110lbs, lol) when he was young when he ate only grains and used only 10lb dumbbells.
Is there anything I can do so that I won’t waste away before I get to college?
Is there any merit to their claims that protein would increase blood pressure? And that eating anything after 7PM is bad?

No. Hate your parents…they deserve it.

I’d get myself a part time job in the evenings where you work in a lumber yard… You can lift heavy lumber around, plus you can eat there on your breaks…

damn i feel sorry for you. you sound like you know what youre doing and have the drive to achive things, but are being held back by restrictive people who dont have a clue, sucks.
sounds like you will have to train and eat in secret and mostly at highschool, order portein powder and keep it at a friends house or in your locker.
are you playing any sports? maybe your coach can help you out.
dont give up!