No College Degree

I work in sales.

3 years ago I was working with a company that wanted to hire me. We made it to the third interview when the manager asked me something about my degree. (at this point I forget the exact question) I had to correct him because I didn’t have one. Apparently they thought I did, when I corrected him, he cut the interview short and told me they only hired people with degrees.

I was pretty devastated, especially because everyone else I had met with (3 people) thought I was perfect for the job. I confided in a few older professionals that suggested I put it on my resume and make them ask me. So from that point forward I started putting that I had a degree on my resume.

Now let me clearify. I went to college out of highschool (state school) went for 3.5 years (technically completed 3 full years of college) before some personal issues as well as outside factors called for me to come closer to home. I transferred to a university who told me that ALL of my shit would transfer. I did, but 1year of my credits didn’t, and it was too late, I already left my first school, got a job, and moved…I was stuck at the new U.

I went to school nights and worked during the day for 4 years. (Took 1 year in between off to complete the fire academy and emt requirements).

With 18 credits left I had to make a decision. The company I was working for wanted to groom me to take over. (small-midsize construction company with room to grow) They didn’t care that I didn’t have my degree and were more worried about the fact that I had to take time out of my work days for school.
After consideration I made the decision to stop going to college. To be perfectly honest I was boarderline broke, student loans up the ass, and the new position was the light at the end of my tunnel…or so I thought.