Ninja Bird!

Hi buddies,

Im new to this part of T-Nation, but many of you will know me from other areas.

Anyway, Im a 30 year old soccer player that is about to retire,. I want to keep active and I am thinking about taking up a martial art to compliment my gym work. Only going to the gym would became boring to me.

Anyway, Im thinking ninjitsu for something different. Anyone here do ninjitsu? Am I too old to take up a martial art? Any other styles that would be better for a “older” guy like myself? Only experience I have hd with martial arts is 1 year of tae kwon doe when I was a 6 year old.

Thanks in advance.

Sensei Bird.

tweet

Hi Bird, welcome to the Combat Sports forum. :slight_smile:

I am actually a black belt in Togakure-Ryu Ninjutsu under Shihan Walt Lysak/Grandmaster James Rosenbach. If you can find a Ninjutsu instructor with legitimate lineage (mine goes Walt Lysak Jr->James Rosenbach->Robert Bussey->Masaaki Hatsumi), then it can be a great martial art and definitely one of the most diverse and fun arts to practice IME.

Be advised though that there is a lot of “nonsense” out there being passed off as Ninjutsu, and even some rather cult like organizations. I will also say that the traditional unarmed skills found in Ninjutsu, while effective given enough practice, aren’t as refined or effective as more modern empty hand skills (like boxing, BJJ, wrestling, Muay Thai, etc…). The weapons skills, mindset/cerebral skills, and things like camouflage, stealth, disguise/espionage/grey man, climbing, awareness and use of one’s environment, etc… more than makes up for that though in every day usage IMO.

If I were you I’d search out a Ninjutsu school/teacher that has lineage to either Rosenbach, Bussey, or Stephen Hayes as all of those men have legitimate lineage and skills.

Good luck