Nike Frees or Reebok ZigTech?

Im in need of a new shoe for the gym because my adidas are starting to wear out and arent really suitable for running. (They are the toeshell kind) Which shoe is more suitable for lifting (Squats,deadlifts) and running (Treadmill)?

Personally I don’t think that you’ll find a shoe that does all of those things well.

I have run in frees for several years (occasionally in stability shoes) and really like them, especially for sprints. Most of my distance running doesn’t surpass 4 miles. I have squatted pretty heavy, for me anyway (~400lbs), in them and do notice a bit of compression and distortion (rolling to the outside) and for that reason prefer my chucks for squats. Squatting in them will probably greatly decrease their life. I always deadlift barefoot.

Bottom line: I love my frees. I think that they hold up very well (better than any other Nike I’ve had). Get some cheap chucks or lifting shoes for squats. Deadlift barefoot. I have no experience with ZigTech.

Goodluck!

i’ve never used the zigtech, but i like my frees. i initially bought them for sprints, which i quite like them for, but ended up wearing them to the gym most days out of convenience. i agree that there is some compression during squats and deads, though not as much as other shoes i’ve worn, so i still prefer chucks or barefoot for those lifts.

These my man…best thing out there for pulling and squatting.

Not bad to run in either.

Chuck Taylors.

Vans work great for lifting.

Anybody try those K-Swiss tubes? The only reason I would give 'em a shot is because Kenny Powers uses them, and shit, he’s Kenny Powers.

[quote]UtahLama wrote:

Chuck Taylors.[/quote]
let’s be serious here, high tops are the only way to go with chucks.

[quote]iamthewolf wrote:

[quote]UtahLama wrote:

Chuck Taylors.[/quote]
let’s be serious here, high tops are the only way to go with chucks.[/quote]

Nahhhh let your ankles run free my friend!