T Nation

Next Step for my Workout

Im new to posting on this site but have been reading around here for a couple of months.

Im curently 24 5’8 167lbs (working on bulking to 175)

My goals for lifting are for increased strength and explosivness. I stay very active playing in a few basketball and flag football leagues. Im also now looking into taking up rugby or submision grappaling for a more competetive outlet.

Ive been doing the Starr 5x5 for the last 5 months with 1 month of no lower body work due to ankle injury. Before that I was doing a up body dominent split routine.

Im currenty working at getting my 1 rep max up to pre injury level

240x1 bench
330x1 squat
315x1 deadlift (i know this should be higher then squat,
i think it was just a bad lifting day)

my current goal is to get 1,000lbs combined by end of June

Im looking to do 2 more weeks of my 5x5 then try a new full body workout. thinking Sheiko?

any suggestions or advice would be appreciated

If you’re getting result from your current program, don’t change it. Sheiko is a very demanding program, and I wonder if it fits your schedule…as an athlete, can you afford weight training three-four times a week, for 2+ hours? Such WO are likely to leave you quite drained…

Have you ever heard of Bill Starr’s “The Big Three”? It’s a program developed for football players; it’s not sky-rocket science, but it’s quite effective; Westside For Skinny Bastards is another option. I’d try Sheiko - the preparatory cycle - in the offseason.

im going to looki into the starr bid 3, ive currenlty been doing the starr 5x5 with deadlifts and not power cleans so that would be a change for me. i beleive the sheiko 29 is a 4 week program. I think i can handle working our 2 hrs a week for 4 weeks on the #29 if its going to get me results. My basketball league wont start till mid june so there wont be much over lap and its only 1 game a week.