T Nation

Newbie W/ ?'s--Take It Easy On Me!

Start off by saying that I am 19 years old, bench about 215, but am now really looking to get strong all around.

I am a newbie–I admit it.
I have done two workouts for the last two years–bench press and curls. Yeah, I know I am dumb for doing this, so please take it easy on me! I have decided to focus more on a workout that works my whole body.

I am currently using the superhero program, but I want to edit it slightly to also include more leg workouts, so please let me know what I should add.

I just have a couple questions on squating. I have never done it before and when I tried it, it left me hurting for days. I was just wondering how I would go about doing this without it hurting for days. I never did it before because I usually try to play basketball several times a week and this just left me hurting to much to do so. I guess it will just take time for me to get used to it?

I am 6’3, 190 pounds and I try to take 200g of protein a day. I also take creatine.

Please post any answers/suggestions.

Thanks!

[quote]cpz wrote:
I just have a couple questions on squating. I have never done it before and when I tried it, it left me hurting for days. I was just wondering how I would go about doing this without it hurting for days. I never did it before because I usually try to play basketball several times a week and this just left me hurting to much to do so. I guess it will just take time for me to get used to it?

Thanks!
[/quote]

How much did you try squatting and how many sets/reps did you do?

I know this will really get a laugh–but I did 100 pounds, 10 reps.

[quote]cpz wrote:

[/quote]

no laughing here, I find it respectable that you were smart enough to realize you’d never done the exercise before and not load up 300 lbs on the bar and hurt yourself or do 1/4 reps and call yourself a badass.