Newbie Question About Soreness

Hey everyone,
I am fairly new to working out and have what may be a silly question. Should I feel sore the next day after every workout? I feel like I am lifting pretty intensly and taking my sets to failure but I do not always feel sore the next day. Is the feeling of soreness a good measure of how good your previous workout was? Thanks

Not necessarily.
Soreness is not the sole indicator of a productive workout. The only time I truly get sore now is when I try a completely new workout.

I recently began Chad Waterburys Single’s club and having completed 14 sets of single rep squats at 90% of my one time max has left me with deeply sore quads. This is a radically different loading parameter than I was used to, so I felt it.

The more consistant you are though the faster your body adapts to a new stmilus so as your training age increases you will probably not experience that deep newbie soreness as often.

Jcv423, I’m 45 and began weightlifting at 33. Before discovering T-Nation I used to train twice per week. Then 3 times per week with only compound lifts,2/3 working sets, 3-8 reps. In 12 years my bodyweight raised about 30 lbs, my chest about 4 inches. So I got some results from my training without never feeling sore. Anyway the first time I felt sore was 2 months ago when I began ABBH, and during the first part of this program. Probably this happened because of the unusual (for me) sets/reps scheme. Certainly at the end of ABBH I got a body in better shape with pecs always full with stronger abs, calves and forearms. So don’t worry to much about soreness !
Luca

Well I tried to find you an article or two but failed in my quick little search.

But to give you a simple straight forward answer, NO. DOMS is not a sign of a good workout. The more you adapt the less likely you are to get sore, that doesnt mean you didnt have a good w/o though.