T Nation

Newbie Program Advice?

Hey so I’ve been a fan/user of T-Nation for a few years now, I’ve used a number of training programs that I found here and some from other places, but I have finally come to a point where I want to put my own program together :slight_smile:

I’ve been using the gym for about 4 years, discovered T-Nation about 2 years ago and have since been working on my technique (I hope I’m in the advanced category now).
I’m currently 22 years old, weigh around 83kg (~180lbs), 186cm (~6"1 foot) tall and have around 15% body fat.
My aim is to get about 90kg (~200lbs) and so I can apply for the city fire brigade which would require some fitness later…
The plan so far is bulk like crazy and then do some shaping/cutting later, so basically I am eating everything I see with the addition of a couple of protein shakes in there.

My workout is as follows:

Day 1 (Monday) - Chest & Biceps
Incline barbell bench (5x5) - 3 minute rest
Flat dumbbell press (5x5) - 3 minute rest
Dumbbell Upper curls (3x5) - 2 minute rest
Hammer Lower Curls (3x5) - 2 minute rest
Flies (5x5) - 2 minute rest
Cable Full Bicep Curls (5x5) - 2 minute rest

Day 2 (Tuesday) - Quads, Calves & Triceps
Squat (5x5) - 3 minute rest
Arnold press (5x5) - 3 minute rest
machine Calf Leg Press (5x5) - 2 minute rest
Machine Leg Extensions (5x5) - 2 minute rest
Tri Pull downs (5x5) - 2 minute rest

Day 3 (Thursday) - Back & Traps
Seated row (5x5) - 2 minute rest
Lat pull down (behind head) (5x5) - 2 minute rest
Narrow grip lat pulldown (5x5) - 2 minute rest
Bent barbell row (5x5) - 2 minute rest
Upright row (5x5) - 2 minute rest
Motorbike (5x5) - 2 minute rest

Day 4 (Friday) - Hamstring & Shoulder
Dead lift (5x5) - 3 minute rest
Shoulder swing (5x5) - 2 minute rest
Hamstring curls (5x5) - 2 minute rest
Rear delt extension (5x5) - superset
Hamstring bends (5x5) - superset

I’m loading everything up with as much weight as I can take for 5 reps and resting only long enough to catch my breath.