T Nation

Newbie Looking for a Program

Hey guys, I recently moved to a new city and with a new start I want to get serious about training. I've worked out before but never with a plan. So I would like to ask the advice of some of you who are more experienced on what I should do.

The first problem I have is a chest/back imbalance. When I was a teenager I used to do loads of pushups but nothing else, which left my back completely useless.(I can do 30 pushups but only 5 pullups) I now have upper back pains regularly, so the first priority is to fix that.

The second problem which I heard also contributed to back pain is weak shoulders (please confirm the truthless of this)

So what should I do guys? Should I build up a workout programme which involves around back and shoulders? What would a programme look like?

Thanks, Minty.

P.s. stats:

height: 5'10
weight: 160lb

front

Back

I'm not a doctor so I've no idea what would fix this. In any case, I can do 30 push ups and 0 pull ups. And I practically never do bench press and train my back a lot more lol. These exercizes are more about bodyweight than anything.

First off, its not that your back is weak, you are weak EVERYWHERE.

rows and deadlifts will build your back a lot. overhead press alternated with bench press will build up your shoulders.

The general idea is to start with 'starting strength' or some '5x5 stronglifts beginner' program

Since the programs on their own say you should start with very low weight and add every time, they shouldn't hurt you. If you do one of them and start feeling pain in your back then make a post about it.(btw you WILL feel pain doing ANY decent program. Personally my knees hurt pretty much almost all the time. It's hard to try and figure out which one is/could lead to an injury and which one is just some passing pain that you should ignore. Maybe your pain is just some passing pain. I've had pains on my neck. Squatting fixed it.)