Newbie Help

I know i know, you’ve all probably had this asked a million times. But i must ask for alittle help.

Firstly, can anyone suggest a good couple of exercises to help increase my biceps? i must warm, you might have to explain the exercises as i’ve no idea what most of the exercise names actually involve. Ive been training for a couple of months and don’t have much idea still.

Secondly is there a list with all the exercise names and description of whats involved with the exercises anywhere?

Btw i must admit this is possibly the best website for info on body building/keep fit i have ever come across.

Regards.
Ian.

Man gotta be short here but your best bet for big Bi’s is going to be building the whole arm as well as your whole body.

AKA. Compound excercises. Chins, dips, bench, squats.

Check out some of the programs here. I am a big fan of CW’s as well as all the coaches. Just pick one and go. All/any will give you great results.

Maybe “Big Boy Basics” or look at CW’s article recently on the Three day full body split, or his ABBH.

Welcome to the forum and dont hesitate to ask anthing.

Hope that helped gotta run,
Phill

Ian,

First, I have rarely seen a person who really needed to work on biceps alone. In fact, it’s rare that some one really needs their arms to catch up with the rest of their body, it’s almost always the other way around. What I’m saying is, be careful, don’t go arm crazy, and make sure you have an accurate judgement of your entire body.

As for just biceps movements, curls curls curls. Yup, just plain old curls. There’s only so much you can do to mix it up when it comes to upper-arm movements. You can change grip(palms-up, down, or neutral), change range of motion(only go down half way, etc.). But, I think that if you can’t get growth to occur with straight-bar curls, or dumbbells or whatever, changing the set/rep parameters will help more than anything. If you’re used to 3x10, try 5x5, or 2x18, whatever. Mix it up.