Newb, Skinny Guy Looking to Start 5/3/1. Looking for the BASICS

Yep…I’m that far behind that I just read this book from 2008 yesterday. :slight_smile:

46 y/o male. I’ve been lifting regular for about 5 years; prior was an endurance sport guy…so my strength has a lot to be desired.

My plan is to do the 5/3/1 BBB plan- So as I understand it I do SQUAT, BENCH,DEADLIFT, PRESS each once a week, and with the BBB component, after I finish my main set, I do that move at the BBB % 5x10, and then do one more assistance move. Do I have this correct so far?

I also see conditioning and Ab work in the book. If I take a piece of the NOV work and add Sled, or Hill Sprints, do I add those to my 4 training days or do them on days off AS LONG AS I DON’T DO LEG CONDITIONING BEFORE LEG DAYS? Where do I add the Ab work?

Overall I assume it would be most advisable to start with the most simple 5/3/1 for a few months before venturing into 5/3/1 Beyond or Forever…but I am 100% open to the advice of those who have had success with these programs.

Hit me with what you have to share, and thank you!

Rob

Welcome to the 531 life.

Yes

You can do as you like. Wendler recomends doing them after the gym, so you can have full rest days off. I do one day gym, one day conditioning, so my training week is 8-9 days, if i decide to take a full rest day somewhere.

The original program suggests it as an assistance. You have push assistance, pull assistance, abs and single leg assistance after the main and supplemental work.
I used to do abs in leg days. Nowdays i just do abs in conditioning days as i like to do bodyweight exercise circuits and different HIT workouts which all include abwork.

Thank you! I’m excited for this changeup.