T Nation

Newb Needs a Routine for Mass

Hey i'm a newb here. I have been lifting for a couple months now. I do not have a routine that I follow. I am looking for something geared to gaining mass. I am a lean guy now that shows definition, so burning fat is not an issue.

Plenty of articles on this site, look up starting strength. Lot of newbs have gotten good results from it.

Train your ass off and work on your diet. If you get your eating in check you'll progress much faster.

Allright let me check it out.

Diet is this

grapefruit 1/2
englishmuffin 1 tbsp peanutbutter
1 package of instant oatmeal
1 cup of orange juice

2 cups of cottagecheese
1 cup of applesauce

piece of meat (fish,chicken,porkchop)
3 cups of milk

snack (kinda weak for this one)
1 cup of peanuts

same as lunch
3 cups of milk

peanut butter n jelly
protein drink w/bannana,2 tbsp peanutbutter

water thruout day

That doesn't seem to be enough calories to even maintain on. Also, where's the protein earlier in the day?

Whats yer age, weight, height etc... ?

a good starting program would be any of the WS4SB programs, theres 3 out i think.

Add a big dose of protein at breakfast and try to bump calories up all around throughout the day, otherwise it doesn't look that bad.

Training-wise, it doesn't matter as long as you focus on taking your squat, bench, deadlift, press, row, and maybe a couple other lifts and doubling them over the next year. That really should be your only focus in training. If you're not gaining strength fast enough to make it, first eat more, rest more, then tweak your training. Real simple.

Ya know now that I think about it your right. The calorie intake is weak.
In what form should I get this morning protein?

Whatever you can stomach. Be it a steak, or eggs or a protein shake.

** Throw in a scoop of Protein powder here... or even some eggs.

*** Not too bad

*** That's decedent... how much meat?? Try to get lots... at least 6oz...