T Nation

Newark, NJ

OK, Jerseyans -- Tell me about gyms in Newark near Rutgers/NJIT campuses. Anything good?

Safe to walk at night? LOL.

Are you actually working on the campus? I did an masters program at NJIT 2 years ago. I used the gym a handful of times, I wasn't serious about training back then. The NJIT gym is next to the soccer field. They used to have free weights in a dark 15x20 room in the basement. The main gym is upstairs and mostly machines. One of the guys in the SRC thread goes there now and said it improved. He said they put power racks upstairs so you should be set. They did however, check ID at the door so not sure if they'll let you in. I did 1 semester at Rutgers Newark but never set foot in the gym. Rutgers New Brunswick allows visitors to use the gym for like $10 a day. They may have the same policy in Newark.

On campus is safe. A few blocks off campus...not so much. When any NJIT students get mugged, the college was required to send an email about to all students. This happened a few times a semester. Mostly it was in our near the Newark Subway system (light rail) , not on the actual campus.

Sam-

I have a client that's right in that area-- couple blocks east. Thought it would be a good landmark to start from. Not sure where exactly I'll be staying yet.

Newark is freaky. I wouldn't go anywhere at night.

Oh OK. Do you have a car? I like the retro fitness chain in NJ. You can print out a free pass and my friend has worked out cash deals with them for short term stints like you got going on. There one 5 minutes away in Belleville, a nice Italian town. While I've never been to that particular retro, I've been to 4 others and liked them all.

http://bellevillenj.retrofitness.net/Web/us/en/locationdetail.dhtml

I meant 5 miles away. Depending on Newark traffic, it could be a lot more than 5 minutes.

I'm tried using the 'new' NJIT gym and I must say it's rather whorendous.