T Nation

New Workout Scheme

Alright, heres the deal, I’m a college kid and I don’t have that much time on my hands to workout. I can watch my diet okay, but I’m not to the point where I have a journal, only because I’m a freshman, and we must eat the food on campus (unfortunately, because the food is so bad for me I end up eating sandwhiches and salads for two meals out of the day). I have actually made big gains though, even though I can’t really watch my diet too well, my bench went from 95 to 140 in about 10 weeks, and I’ve gained one inch in my chest and arms, increasing my body weight from 160 to 172, all while keeping my body fat at around 10-12% (so I’m 5’10, 172, 10-12% bf). For the past 10 weeks, I have been going by this workout scheme, which I admit is kind of extreme in that it takes about an hour and 30 minutes to complete (I’ve probably annihilated more than stimulated (sorry for that plug :slight_smile: )). By the by, my goal is weight gain/hypertrophy. I don’t really want to be some huge ass bodybuilder, I’m actually trying to gain weight so I can play rugby next year and not get killed by the 245 lb drunken fatties on the team.

M/F:
5x5 Bench Press
3X5 Incline Bench Press
3x5 Dumbell Curls (done on an incline bench… i don’t know what the proper name for the excercise would be)
3x5 Barbell curls ( hands closer in to work the outer bicep)
3x5 Close grip Bench press
30 Wide Grip Pull Ups

W/(I started going on Sundays 2 weeks ago):
5x5 Heavy Squats
5x5 Bent-over Rows
3x20 Standing Calf Raise w/ Dumbell

I know I’m going to get torn apart for this excercise, but please do, I know it can’t be all that great because It really incorporates too much stuff.

I get out of school in 4 weeks, so I want to have one excercise for 4 weeks that stresses Hypertrophy, but not overtraining. Thankfully, Summer is coming up soon and I was thinking of doing OVT.