T Nation

New Workout, Looking for Critique

Hey guys, I have been working out for about two years now without a major goal set to follow. After having read this site for the past few months, I decided I needed a change in my workout routine. If you guys could take a look at this workout plan I made up and critique it I’d appreciate it. I am very lean and not looking to lose any fat.

Goal: Size

Eating Habits: I have just recently starting eating to promote muscle gain. 6 meals a day each with around 50g of protein and 2/1 carb/protein shake AWO.

Workout Schedule

Day 1 - Chest/Back
Day 2 - Rest
Day 3 - Biceps/Triceps
Day 4 - Legs
Day 5 - Rest
Day 6 - Shoulders/Traps
Day 7 - Rest

exercise setsXreps rest time (muscle worked)

Chest and Back

Bench Press 4x8 120 sec (pectoral)
Bent Over Row 4x8 120 sec (general back)
Incline Dumbbell Press 3x8 90 sec (pectoral)
Pulldown to Front 3x8 90 sec (lats)
Dumbbell Flyes 2x10 90 sec (pectoral)
Seated Row 2x10 90 sec (general back)

Biceps/Triceps

Barbell Curl 4x8 120 sec (biceps)
Weighted Tricep Dips 4x8 120 sec (triceps)
Incline hammer curl 3x8 90 sec (biceps)
Lying French Press 3x8 90 sec (triceps)
Cable Curls 2x10 90 sec (biceps)
Triceps Pushdown 2x10 90 sec (triceps)

Legs

Squats 4x8 120 sec (quads)
Calf Raises 2x12 90 sec (calves)
Romanian Deadlifts 4x8 120 sec (glutes)
Leg Curls 3x10 90 sec (hamstrings)
Bulgarian Split Squat 3x10 90 sec (quads)
Cable Pull throughs 3x10 90 sec (hamstrings)

Shoulders

Military Press 4x8 120 sec (deltoid)
Barbell Shrug 4x8 120 sec (upper traps)
Dumbbell Lateral Raise 3x8 90 sec (lateral deltoid)
Bent Lateral Raise 3x8 90 sec (posterior deltoid)
Plate Raise 2x10 90 sec (anterior deltoid)
DB Shrugs 2x10 90 sec (traps)

I listed what each exercise target to help myself make sure I’m not missing any target muscles.

I will probably do some ab workouts on off days if I think I need them.

I had a lot of trouble trying to put together the leg day. Is it good enough?

Thanks