New WNBF Pro (The Mighty) Stu Yellin

I know not everyone reads my little contest thread, but this past Saturday, in NYC, I won my pro card at the always highly competitive INBF Hercules Competition. Now, in addition to my previous pro card (in the USBF), I am also a WNBF Pro. For anyone who doesn’t follow the ‘natty’ side of the sport, there are multiple federations, each with varying regions, and rules and regulations regarding banned substances etc. The WNBF is easily the largest, most well known, highest respected, and most stringent in it’s rules and judging criteria. Admittedly I went into this show dearly wanting to win, but knowing that even a top 3 finish in this particular show would be amazing. Everyone in my class had a ton of size, good conditioning, and could have walked away with 1st place in a ‘lesser’ show without breaking a sweat. I definitely fought the hardest lineup I’ve ever been in this time.

Something interesting I realized though, was that despite my constantly saying how I’ve been competing for 3 years, my first show being in May of 2009, it’s really only been 2 years. In those 2 years, I’ve secured quite a list of 1st place trophies, a couple of overall wins, and two (TWO!) pro Cards. I’ve certainly been steam rolling my way through the sport.

My girlfriend, after watching and supporting me in my previous contest endeavors decided that she was also going to compete in this contest. While I had a ton of faith in her, as well as my own knowledge in steering her in to game day in the best condition possible, I knew, and stressed to her the caliber of competitor who would show up to ‘do battle’. Long story short, my girl walked away EASILY winning the Novice Figure class. In both of our respective classes, we started on the end, only to be quickly moved to the center for the rest of the comparisons. By the night’s end, we were each sporting very large trophies to accompany our ridiculous looking fake tans.