T Nation

New Training Plan

I've been training for 2 years and have some solid progress to show for it. My problem is that I've done either too advanced programs and hurt myself or a not advanced enough program and made no progress. I need a program that will work with where I am at in my training.

Squat:285
Bench:205
Deadlift:300
Shoulder Press:120
Power Clean:155
Chins:11
Dips:35

Any help is great. Thanks

I sware by the texas method

Give us an example of what you think is "not advanced enough" for you, and an example of one that's "too advanced".

Anything smolov(I tried that and almost died),Westside Barbell(amazing system but it works for elite powerlifters not a dumb 15 year old) and any program that I copied from an elite powerlifter. I can't think of a simple program so anything not as advanced as the programs I mentioned would be perfect for me.

Why not try 5-3-1? Jim's 5-3-1 for Powerlifting should be coming out soon, I'd suggest buying both and going from there. Check out the 5-3-1 thread in this forum.

Smolov that is not adjusted for drug free should not be used drug free.
Way too advanced

Westside is not too advanced, you did something wrong. I got amazing gains when I was 14 off that.

That said, you may respond better to westside for skinny bastards. IMO it is better at your level. I think the bands/chains/ect are too much for your level.

A lot of people like 5/3/1... I am not a big advocate of it. Its okay, but just okay. It is better than no program or a self made program in most cases, which is why people see results.

Texas method has had some success with guys I know. They were about your level. Basically added a plate to every lift (roughly) in about 20 weeks.

That being said, my first year on westside, my max squat was 315 when I started, and was 425 like 11 months later. Same gear for both. Same bodyweight. I was like 14 when I started, 15 when I did that. Then I started overtraining massively and stopped making gains.