New To Working Out

Hey,

Im very new to all of this, I have never really worked out a single day in my life.

About 2 weeks ago I joined a gym, and got 9 sessions with a personal trainer at $400.

So I went to the first session, he said he’d take it easy.

We got done 90% of the exercises and I ended up thrwing up.

That same day I was fine, but the next day I got this horrible pain in the joint of my elbow, it’s sore as hell. Both of them.

Now today beign 2 days after it hurts even more, it’s stuck at a 90 degree angle and I simple can’t unbend them because the pain is so great.

Im supposed ot go in for another session tommorow but i cancelled because there is no way in hell I can do anythign with my arms being liek this.

Im 20 years old

6’1" 155lbs

12% body fat

Can anyone explain why I might have this pain? and maybe how to fix it?

Im still working on my diet, and have to go purchase some protein shakes, but first things first i gotta get rid of the pain.

The workout was a full body workout on about 15 different machines.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,
Mario

If you read at T-Nation often, you’ll find three things wrong with what you’ve said.

a) Personal trainers… usually suck. Bad. The good ones are far and few between. If he walks to a machine, for most purposes thats not a good thing.

b) Machines. Ew. Machines are for the very old and very young (minus some cables and the lat pulldown). Use free weighs man.

c) Please read any article on T-Nation. Theres a recent one on programm design for dummies. Read it. If your workout is nothing like the guidlines on it, something is wrong.

d) Ice your injuries, give at least a day for recover. Sounds like you overworked something. Rest, maybe an anti-imflammatory (motrin) would help. I doubt you have any huge genetic defect that cuases joint pain.

f) Form. It might be a form issue. Bad form = pain. If it hurts and feels ridiculously unatural, you probably shouldn’t be doing it.