T Nation

New To Weightlifting and Training

Hey Everybody,

I'm kind of new to weightlifting, and I'm training for the Army. The only gyms around here are the YMCA and Planet Fitness.

I have about 150 lbs of weights at home, which I deadlift with. To squat, should I use a backpack filled with weight, or clean and press the weight and work up that, the overhead press, and squat at the same time?

Currently I do:

Sunday: ASVAB Studying or Walking
Monday: Grease The Groove Push-Up and Sit-Up Ladders
Tuesday: HIIT
Wednesday: ASVAB Studying or Walking
Thursday: Heavy Calisthenics
Friday: HIIT
Saturday: Grease The Groove Push-Up and Sit-Up Ladders
Repeat

For Heavy Calisthenics, As Few Sets As Possible
Chin-Ups W/ Boots: 3
Chin-Up Negatives W/Boots: 8
Pull-Up Negatives W/ Boots: 5
Push-Ups W/ 20 LB Weighted Vest: 30
Prisoner Squats: 20
Burpees W/ Weighted Vest: 25
Sit-Ups: 40

Any suggestions? For background, I am 5' 8" and 220 lbs.

Thanks,
Mike

Er, whats a prisoner squat and whats a "grease the groove ladder?"
Also, what are your actual goals?

A prisoner Squat is just a squat with your fingers interlocked behind your head.
A Grease The Groove Ladder is basically, for push-ups, going to half (or a little more) of your max.
Example: 1, Rest, 2, Rest, 3, Rest, Etc...
Say you can do ten push-ups, you would go up to 5 push-ups in the ladder, which totals 15 each ladder, allowing you to do more volume without going to failure.

As for my goals, I'm training to be able to perform as well as I can in the Army. I'm looking at Green Berets and Rangers, but definitely Infantry.

good shit on your decision to enlist. It's good to know you want to go in prepared.