New to Weight Lifting

I’m very new to the concept of building a bigger/better body at the age of 24. I have always been a very active guy for most of my life swimming, dance, runner & great athlete when I was in high school. But the one key thing I always fell short of was muscles and bigger body build.

I can easily loose 5 pounds just by not eating for a day or eating one meal in the day. I’ve always been very trim and naturally toned and lean. I could eat McDonalds for weeks on end and maybe only gain 5-7 pounds of solid fat, but keep my toned shape.

Which brings me to my question of where to start with betting bigger and seeing my body actually have muscles in my arms and stomach for once??? I’ve done supplements (shakes, bars, powders etc). But I only seen small results with about 1-hour of weights in the gym 3-4 times a week without cardio. I ask fellow T-Nation people “HOW ON EARTH DO I SEE RESULTS”, am I doing something wrong or just not dedicating myself enough to weights or is it just in my genes to stay lean, toned & trim just by being me???

Please let me know your thoughts and where on earth I may be going wrong with how I am approaching weight lifting and trying to bulk up and see results from my efforts???

Thanks

saying that you spend an hour in the gym 3-4x a week doesn’t mean much.

are you adding weight or reps to your exercises over time, and/or are you improving the speed, quality and/or feel of your reps? that’s called progression. without some kind of progression, you’ll be hard pressed to achieve results.

what does your routine look like?